Observer Pattern with Unity Events for Normcore

Hello everyone:

My name is Chesco and I am an independent VR developer, specifically for Oculus Quest. Right now I’m creating a multiplayer game and after looking at various options I’ve opted for Normcore for now.

I have a number of questions and would appreciate advice and guidance on the subject.

• Is it possible and recommended to implement an observer pattern with Unity Events for Normcore?

I have been studying this system a bit and as I come from the Android world and I am far from mastering Unity and C#, the Updates and Coroutines that are used with the engine are very “annoying” to me. Being more in favor of the use of observers of the events that of the mentioned methods.

Given that in the examples that I have seen all the “observation” is made on the updates method, my doubt is about the convenience or not of using Unity Events and in the case of data using the scriptable object, (personally they seem wonderful to me) .

And of course, if someone can guide me, if I can use them, what is the most appropriate way to implement them.

In Ryan Hipple tutorial he mentions copying data into variables at runtime, and not using ScriptableObjects directly. So I’ve thought of creating entity classes on one hand (Player, Enemies, etc…) and using ScriptableObjects on the other for Room, Death, or cases where I need to pass data between scenes.

And for the events, like in the Youtube example with Normcore catch a ball, the documentation brush, etc… Instead of using Update(), use ScriptableObjects with Unity Events.

I don’t know how effective this implementation is and how difficult it is, so I would be very grateful for any advice, ideas or opinions.

On the other hand…

• What is the recommended maximum number of players per room?